With a few notable exceptions, the AICPA has announced that most U.S. states have now officially changed their individual tax filing and payment deadlines to align with the recently revised Federal income tax due date of July 15, 2020. The Federal government had changed its filing and payment deadline at the end of March in order to give Americans contending with the coronavirus pandemic a 90-day reprieve on their 2019 individual tax filing obligations.

USA Map showing state filing and payment deadlines extended

All states have altered their personal income tax deadlines, pushing their due dates back from the usual April 15th deadline.

July 15, 2020 State Deadlines

Of the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, 38 have extended their deadlines to July 15, 2020 so that individuals can file and render payment (if due) for both their Federal and state individual tax returns bearing the same due date in mind. These states include:

Alabama Louisiana New York
Arkansas Massachusetts Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
California Maryland Oregon
Colorado Michigan Pennsylvania
Connecticut Minnesota Rhode Island
Washington, D.C. Missouri South Carolina
Delaware Montana Tennesee
Georgia North Carolina Utah
Illinois North Dakota Vermont
Indiana Nebraska Wisconsin
Kansas New Jersey West Virginia
Kentucky New Mexico

Other State Deadlines

Five states have moved their individual income tax deadlines back but to dates other than July 15th. These include:

  • Iowa – July 31, 2020
  • Hawaii – July 20, 2020
  • Idaho – June 15, 2020
  • Mississippi – May 15, 2020
  • Virginia – May 1, 2020 (for filing) and June 1, 2020 (for payments)

New Hampshire Deadline

New Hampshire, which imposes an income tax on interest and dividends, has extended its deadline to June 15, 2020.

States Without Individual Income Tax Return Requirements

The additional seven states do not require their residents to file individual income tax returns. These are:

Alaska South Dakota Wyoming
Florida Texas
Nevada Washington

Washington, D.C., Mississippi, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania have also provided a temporary safe harbor or waiver for state withholdings and tax liability for those working remotely in a state different from that in which they normally work during the COVID-19 crisis.

For more detailed information on state filing and payment deadlines, click here.